Apps and online care
Open Path Collective vs BetterHelp
They differ on 7 of 10 things we check. No winner here: the better one is the one that fits what you need and how you'd pay.
Open Path Collective
You browse Open Path's directory, pay a one-time $65 membership, and contact a therapist who offers reduced-fee sessions online or in person.
BetterHelp
You fill in a questionnaire, get matched with a licensed therapist, and meet by video, phone or live chat, with messaging in between.
Where they differ
- Good for
- Open Path Collective: People who are uninsured or underinsured and need lower-cost therapy; People who want to choose their own therapist, online or in person
- BetterHelp: Adults with mild to moderate depression, anxiety or stress who want weekly talk therapy from home; People who want to message a therapist between live sessions
- Cost
- Open Path Collective: $65 one-time membership, then $30–$80/session
- BetterHelp: $70–$100/week, billed weekly or every 4 weeks
- Where
- Open Path Collective: Web
- BetterHelp: iPhone, Android, Web
- Research
- Open Path Collective: Not stated
- BetterHelp: Limited research
- Privacy
- Open Path Collective: Grade B
- BetterHelp: Grade D
- Sells your data
- Open Path Collective: No
- BetterHelp: Yes
- HIPAA
- Open Path Collective: Not stated
- BetterHelp: Yes
The same for both: kind of help (a therapist), probably not for (anyone in crisis: call or text 988), how you pay (i'll pay myself).
In crisis or thinking about suicide? In the US, call or text 988. This page is information from our reviews, not medical advice.