Skip to content
Apps and online care

Therapy for Black Girls vs BetterHelp

They differ on 8 of 10 things we check. No winner here: the better one is the one that fits what you need and how you'd pay.

Therapy for Black Girls

You search the free directory for a therapist and contact the one you choose directly; fees and insurance are between you and the therapist.

BetterHelp

You fill in a questionnaire, get matched with a licensed therapist, and meet by video, phone or live chat, with messaging in between.

Where they differ

Good for
Therapy for Black Girls: Black women and girls who want to find a therapist who understands their experience; People who want free mental health information and a podcast before starting therapy
BetterHelp: Adults with mild to moderate depression, anxiety or stress who want weekly talk therapy from home; People who want to message a therapist between live sessions
Cost
Therapy for Black Girls: Free
BetterHelp: $70–$100/week, billed weekly or every 4 weeks
How you pay
Therapy for Black Girls: Free
BetterHelp: I'll pay myself
Where
Therapy for Black Girls: Web
BetterHelp: iPhone, Android, Web
Research
Therapy for Black Girls: Not stated
BetterHelp: Limited research
Privacy
Therapy for Black Girls: Grade C
BetterHelp: Grade D
Sells your data
Therapy for Black Girls: Not stated
BetterHelp: Yes
HIPAA
Therapy for Black Girls: Not stated
BetterHelp: Yes

The same for both: kind of help (a therapist), probably not for (anyone in crisis: call or text 988).

In crisis or thinking about suicide? In the US, call or text 988. This page is information from our reviews, not medical advice.