Skip to content
Apps and online care

Sunnyside vs Aware Recovery Care

They differ on 10 of 10 things we check. No winner here: the better one is the one that fits what you need and how you'd pay.

Sunnyside

You answer a short quiz, get a weekly drinking goal, and log drinks by text or in the app, with daily tips and messages from a coach.

Aware Recovery Care

You check your insurance by state, then a team of a clinician, nurse, recovery coach and care coordinator works with you and your family at home over about a year, with medication for addiction where appropriate.

Where they differ

Kind of help
Sunnyside: Peer support or coaching
Aware Recovery Care: A therapist
Good for
Sunnyside: Adults who want to cut back on drinking rather than quit; People who would rather log drinks by text message than open an app
Aware Recovery Care: Adults with alcohol or drug addiction who want treatment at home instead of a facility; People who need more support than weekly outpatient care
Probably not for
Sunnyside: Anyone in crisis: call or text 988
Aware Recovery Care: Anyone in crisis or overdose: call 911, or call or text 988
Cost
Sunnyside: 15-day free trial, then about $99/year or $12/month
Aware Recovery Care: Copay with insurance; no self-pay price published
How you pay
Sunnyside: I'll pay myself
Aware Recovery Care: Insurance
Where
Sunnyside: iPhone, Android
Aware Recovery Care: Web
Research
Sunnyside: Limited research
Aware Recovery Care: Early research
Privacy
Sunnyside: Grade C
Aware Recovery Care: Grade B
Sells your data
Sunnyside: Not stated
Aware Recovery Care: No
HIPAA
Sunnyside: Not stated
Aware Recovery Care: Yes

In crisis or thinking about suicide? In the US, call or text 988. This page is information from our reviews, not medical advice.