Skip to content
Apps and online care

Rosebud vs Brightside Health

They differ on 7 of 10 things we check. No winner here: the better one is the one that fits what you need and how you'd pay.

Rosebud

You write or talk about your day, and Rosebud replies with questions and suggestions, then summarizes patterns in your mood and goals each week.

Brightside Health

You complete an online assessment, then see a prescriber by video once a month, a therapist weekly, or both, and message your care team in between.

Where they differ

Kind of help
Rosebud: An app I use on my own
Brightside Health: A therapist, Medication
Good for
Rosebud: People who want prompts and follow-up questions while journaling; Spotting patterns in mood, stress and goals over weeks
Brightside Health: Adults with depression or anxiety who want medication management by video; People who want therapy and psychiatry from the same service
Cost
Rosebud: $12.99/month or $107.99/year (Bloom)
Brightside Health: Copay with insurance; $95/month psychiatry or $299/month therapy self-pay
How you pay
Rosebud: I'll pay myself
Brightside Health: Insurance
Research
Rosebud: Not stated
Brightside Health: Some research support
Sells your data
Rosebud: Not stated
Brightside Health: No
HIPAA
Rosebud: Not stated
Brightside Health: Yes

The same for both: probably not for (anyone in crisis: call or text 988), where (iphone, android, web), privacy (grade c).

In crisis or thinking about suicide? In the US, call or text 988. This page is information from our reviews, not medical advice.