Apps and online care
Open Path Collective vs Talkspace
They differ on 8 of 10 things we check. No winner here: the better one is the one that fits what you need and how you'd pay.
Open Path Collective
You browse Open Path's directory, pay a one-time $65 membership, and contact a therapist who offers reduced-fee sessions online or in person.
Talkspace
You answer an intake questionnaire, get matched with a licensed therapist, then message them any time and meet by live video depending on your plan.
Where they differ
- Kind of help
- Open Path Collective: A therapist
- Talkspace: A therapist, Medication
- Good for
- Open Path Collective: People who are uninsured or underinsured and need lower-cost therapy; People who want to choose their own therapist, online or in person
- Talkspace: Adults with depression, anxiety or stress who want a therapist they can message between live sessions; People whose insurance or employer plan covers Talkspace
- Cost
- Open Path Collective: $65 one-time membership, then $30–$80/session
- Talkspace: $69–$109/week self-pay; copay with insurance
- Where
- Open Path Collective: Web
- Talkspace: iPhone, Android, Web
- Research
- Open Path Collective: Not stated
- Talkspace: Strong research support
- Privacy
- Open Path Collective: Grade B
- Talkspace: Grade C
- Sells your data
- Open Path Collective: No
- Talkspace: Yes
- HIPAA
- Open Path Collective: Not stated
- Talkspace: Yes
The same for both: probably not for (anyone in crisis: call or text 988), how you pay (i'll pay myself).
In crisis or thinking about suicide? In the US, call or text 988. This page is information from our reviews, not medical advice.