Skip to content
Apps and online care

Open Path Collective vs Talkiatry

They differ on 9 of 10 things we check. No winner here: the better one is the one that fits what you need and how you'd pay.

Open Path Collective

You browse Open Path's directory, pay a one-time $65 membership, and contact a therapist who offers reduced-fee sessions online or in person.

Talkiatry

You fill in an online assessment, get matched with a psychiatrist, and meet by video for an evaluation and then medication follow-ups.

Where they differ

Kind of help
Open Path Collective: A therapist
Talkiatry: Medication
Good for
Open Path Collective: People who are uninsured or underinsured and need lower-cost therapy; People who want to choose their own therapist, online or in person
Talkiatry: Adults and children 5+ with commercial insurance or Medicare who need a psychiatrist for medication; People who can't find a local psychiatrist with openings
Cost
Open Path Collective: $65 one-time membership, then $30–$80/session
Talkiatry: Copay with insurance; self-pay price not published
How you pay
Open Path Collective: I'll pay myself
Talkiatry: Insurance
Where
Open Path Collective: Web
Talkiatry: iPhone, Web
Research
Open Path Collective: Not stated
Talkiatry: Limited research
Privacy
Open Path Collective: Grade B
Talkiatry: Grade C
Sells your data
Open Path Collective: No
Talkiatry: Yes
HIPAA
Open Path Collective: Not stated
Talkiatry: Yes

The same for both: probably not for (anyone in crisis: call or text 988).

In crisis or thinking about suicide? In the US, call or text 988. This page is information from our reviews, not medical advice.