Skip to content
Apps and online care

Open Path Collective vs Brightside Health

They differ on 8 of 10 things we check. No winner here: the better one is the one that fits what you need and how you'd pay.

Open Path Collective

You browse Open Path's directory, pay a one-time $65 membership, and contact a therapist who offers reduced-fee sessions online or in person.

Brightside Health

You complete an online assessment, then see a prescriber by video once a month, a therapist weekly, or both, and message your care team in between.

Where they differ

Kind of help
Open Path Collective: A therapist
Brightside Health: A therapist, Medication
Good for
Open Path Collective: People who are uninsured or underinsured and need lower-cost therapy; People who want to choose their own therapist, online or in person
Brightside Health: Adults with depression or anxiety who want medication management by video; People who want therapy and psychiatry from the same service
Cost
Open Path Collective: $65 one-time membership, then $30–$80/session
Brightside Health: Copay with insurance; $95/month psychiatry or $299/month therapy self-pay
How you pay
Open Path Collective: I'll pay myself
Brightside Health: Insurance
Where
Open Path Collective: Web
Brightside Health: iPhone, Android, Web
Research
Open Path Collective: Not stated
Brightside Health: Some research support
Privacy
Open Path Collective: Grade B
Brightside Health: Grade C
HIPAA
Open Path Collective: Not stated
Brightside Health: Yes

The same for both: probably not for (anyone in crisis: call or text 988), sells your data (no).

In crisis or thinking about suicide? In the US, call or text 988. This page is information from our reviews, not medical advice.