Skip to content
Apps and online care

Inclusive Therapists vs BetterHelp

They differ on 8 of 10 things we check. No winner here: the better one is the one that fits what you need and how you'd pay.

Inclusive Therapists

You search Inclusive Therapists for an affirming provider by identity, location, focus or sliding-scale options, or use its Get Matched service, then contact the provider yourself.

BetterHelp

You fill in a questionnaire, get matched with a licensed therapist, and meet by video, phone or live chat, with messaging in between.

Where they differ

Good for
Inclusive Therapists: People from marginalised communities who want an identity-affirming provider; 2SLGBTQIA+, neurodivergent and disabled people
BetterHelp: Adults with mild to moderate depression, anxiety or stress who want weekly talk therapy from home; People who want to message a therapist between live sessions
Cost
Inclusive Therapists: Free
BetterHelp: $70–$100/week, billed weekly or every 4 weeks
How you pay
Inclusive Therapists: Free
BetterHelp: I'll pay myself
Where
Inclusive Therapists: Web
BetterHelp: iPhone, Android, Web
Research
Inclusive Therapists: Not stated
BetterHelp: Limited research
Privacy
Inclusive Therapists: Grade B
BetterHelp: Grade D
Sells your data
Inclusive Therapists: No
BetterHelp: Yes
HIPAA
Inclusive Therapists: Not stated
BetterHelp: Yes

The same for both: kind of help (a therapist), probably not for (anyone in crisis: call or text 988).

In crisis or thinking about suicide? In the US, call or text 988. This page is information from our reviews, not medical advice.