Skip to content
Apps and online care

Unwinding Anxiety vs Rootd

They differ on 7 of 10 things we check. No winner here: the better one is the one that fits what you need and how you'd pay.

Unwinding Anxiety

You work through about 30 short daily video lessons and in-the-moment exercises that teach you to notice the worry habit loop and step out of it, with a community and weekly live calls.

Rootd

You open Rootd during a panic attack and tap one large button; it then guides your breathing and grounding step by step.

Where they differ

Good for
Unwinding Anxiety: Adults with ongoing worry or generalized anxiety who want a structured daily program; People who like learning mindfulness through short lessons rather than long meditations
Rootd: People who get panic attacks and want a guided tool to use in the moment; Learning what happens in the body during panic so it feels less frightening
Probably not for
Unwinding Anxiety: Anyone in crisis: call or text 988
Rootd: Anyone in crisis or thinking about suicide: call or text 988
Cost
Unwinding Anxiety: 7-day free trial, then $29.99/month or $209.99/year
Rootd: Free version, or Free; Full Access about $79.99/year or $199 lifetime
How you pay
Unwinding Anxiety: I'll pay myself
Rootd: Free, I'll pay myself
Where
Unwinding Anxiety: iPhone, Android, Web
Rootd: iPhone, Android
Research
Unwinding Anxiety: Some research support
Rootd: Early research
Sells your data
Unwinding Anxiety: Not stated
Rootd: No

The same for both: kind of help (an app i use on my own), privacy (grade c), hipaa (not stated).

In crisis or thinking about suicide? In the US, call or text 988. This page is information from our reviews, not medical advice.