Skip to content
Apps and online care

Unwinding Anxiety vs Brightside Health

They differ on 6 of 10 things we check. No winner here: the better one is the one that fits what you need and how you'd pay.

Unwinding Anxiety

You work through about 30 short daily video lessons and in-the-moment exercises that teach you to notice the worry habit loop and step out of it, with a community and weekly live calls.

Brightside Health

You complete an online assessment, then see a prescriber by video once a month, a therapist weekly, or both, and message your care team in between.

Where they differ

Kind of help
Unwinding Anxiety: An app I use on my own
Brightside Health: A therapist, Medication
Good for
Unwinding Anxiety: Adults with ongoing worry or generalized anxiety who want a structured daily program; People who like learning mindfulness through short lessons rather than long meditations
Brightside Health: Adults with depression or anxiety who want medication management by video; People who want therapy and psychiatry from the same service
Cost
Unwinding Anxiety: 7-day free trial, then $29.99/month or $209.99/year
Brightside Health: Copay with insurance; $95/month psychiatry or $299/month therapy self-pay
How you pay
Unwinding Anxiety: I'll pay myself
Brightside Health: Insurance
Sells your data
Unwinding Anxiety: Not stated
Brightside Health: No
HIPAA
Unwinding Anxiety: Not stated
Brightside Health: Yes

The same for both: probably not for (anyone in crisis: call or text 988), where (iphone, android, web), research (some research support), privacy (grade c).

In crisis or thinking about suicide? In the US, call or text 988. This page is information from our reviews, not medical advice.