Apps and online care
Therapy for Black Girls vs Talkspace
They differ on 8 of 10 things we check. No winner here: the better one is the one that fits what you need and how you'd pay.
Therapy for Black Girls
You search the free directory for a therapist and contact the one you choose directly; fees and insurance are between you and the therapist.
Talkspace
You answer an intake questionnaire, get matched with a licensed therapist, then message them any time and meet by live video depending on your plan.
Where they differ
- Kind of help
- Therapy for Black Girls: A therapist
- Talkspace: A therapist, Medication
- Good for
- Therapy for Black Girls: Black women and girls who want to find a therapist who understands their experience; People who want free mental health information and a podcast before starting therapy
- Talkspace: Adults with depression, anxiety or stress who want a therapist they can message between live sessions; People whose insurance or employer plan covers Talkspace
- Cost
- Therapy for Black Girls: Free
- Talkspace: $69–$109/week self-pay; copay with insurance
- How you pay
- Therapy for Black Girls: Free
- Talkspace: I'll pay myself
- Where
- Therapy for Black Girls: Web
- Talkspace: iPhone, Android, Web
- Research
- Therapy for Black Girls: Not stated
- Talkspace: Strong research support
- Sells your data
- Therapy for Black Girls: Not stated
- Talkspace: Yes
- HIPAA
- Therapy for Black Girls: Not stated
- Talkspace: Yes
The same for both: probably not for (anyone in crisis: call or text 988), privacy (grade c).
In crisis or thinking about suicide? In the US, call or text 988. This page is information from our reviews, not medical advice.