Skip to content
Apps and online care

Therapy for Black Girls vs Brightside Health

They differ on 8 of 10 things we check. No winner here: the better one is the one that fits what you need and how you'd pay.

Therapy for Black Girls

You search the free directory for a therapist and contact the one you choose directly; fees and insurance are between you and the therapist.

Brightside Health

You complete an online assessment, then see a prescriber by video once a month, a therapist weekly, or both, and message your care team in between.

Where they differ

Kind of help
Therapy for Black Girls: A therapist
Brightside Health: A therapist, Medication
Good for
Therapy for Black Girls: Black women and girls who want to find a therapist who understands their experience; People who want free mental health information and a podcast before starting therapy
Brightside Health: Adults with depression or anxiety who want medication management by video; People who want therapy and psychiatry from the same service
Cost
Therapy for Black Girls: Free
Brightside Health: Copay with insurance; $95/month psychiatry or $299/month therapy self-pay
How you pay
Therapy for Black Girls: Free
Brightside Health: Insurance
Where
Therapy for Black Girls: Web
Brightside Health: iPhone, Android, Web
Research
Therapy for Black Girls: Not stated
Brightside Health: Some research support
Sells your data
Therapy for Black Girls: Not stated
Brightside Health: No
HIPAA
Therapy for Black Girls: Not stated
Brightside Health: Yes

The same for both: probably not for (anyone in crisis: call or text 988), privacy (grade c).

In crisis or thinking about suicide? In the US, call or text 988. This page is information from our reviews, not medical advice.