Skip to content
Apps and online care

DARE vs Brightside Health

They differ on 8 of 10 things we check. No winner here: the better one is the one that fits what you need and how you'd pay.

DARE

DARE gives you guided audio to talk you through panic attacks and anxious moments, based on Barry McDonagh's book.

Brightside Health

You complete an online assessment, then see a prescriber by video once a month, a therapist weekly, or both, and message your care team in between.

Where they differ

Kind of help
DARE: An app I use on my own
Brightside Health: A therapist, Medication
Good for
DARE: People with panic attacks who want an audio guide to use in the moment; People who liked the DARE book and want its approach in an app
Brightside Health: Adults with depression or anxiety who want medication management by video; People who want therapy and psychiatry from the same service
Cost
DARE: Free version, or Free; Premium subscription (price shown in the app)
Brightside Health: Copay with insurance; $95/month psychiatry or $299/month therapy self-pay
How you pay
DARE: Free, I'll pay myself
Brightside Health: Insurance
Where
DARE: iPhone, Android
Brightside Health: iPhone, Android, Web
Research
DARE: Not stated
Brightside Health: Some research support
Sells your data
DARE: Not stated
Brightside Health: No
HIPAA
DARE: No
Brightside Health: Yes

The same for both: probably not for (anyone in crisis: call or text 988), privacy (grade c).

In crisis or thinking about suicide? In the US, call or text 988. This page is information from our reviews, not medical advice.