Grow Therapy

Free insurance credentialing in 5-7 days with 26,000+ providers nationwide, guaranteed claims, and weekly payments through revenue sharing. $3B valuation (March 2026).

Cost to join

Free to join

Pricing model

per provider month

Founded

2020

Overview

Grow Therapy is a free-to-join therapist network available in all 50 states with over 26,000 licensed providers, processing 1 million+ visits per month. The company reached a $3B valuation in March 2026 after raising $328M total funding. Unlike subscription-based platforms, Grow Therapy operates on a revenue-sharing model—taking a percentage of insurance reimbursements with no upfront membership fees. Credentialing typically takes just 5-7 days, one of the fastest in the industry. Providers are credentialed with major payers including Aetna, Cigna, Blue Cross Blue Shield, UnitedHealthcare, Optum, Humana, Oscar, Oxford, and Anthem. Reimbursement rates range from $60-160+ per session depending on CPT code, payer, credentials, and location—with PMHNPs averaging $129/hour and LCSWs earning $85-100/session. Grow includes basic documentation tools, scheduling, secure messaging, and telehealth—but most providers use a separate dedicated EHR for comprehensive clinical records. Providers join as independent 1099 contractors with full clinical autonomy and flexible scheduling. Claims are guaranteed, and weekly payouts process in about seven business days after insurance pays. The company has been profitable since its second year of operation.

Best for

  • New clinicians seeking fastest path to seeing insured clients (5-7 day credentialing)
  • Therapists wanting insurance work without credentialing or billing hassle
  • Providers wanting guaranteed claims with clawback protection
  • Clinicians who prioritize weekly payments and predictable income
  • Those comfortable with undisclosed revenue sharing in exchange for zero admin burden
  • Therapists wanting to build caseload quickly with platform-provided referrals

Not ideal for

  • !Clinicians building their own independent practice (credentials stay with Grow)
  • !Therapists wanting to own their panels and client relationships long-term
  • !Providers wanting full transparency on exact fee splits (percentage not disclosed)
  • !Those wanting highest possible reimbursement rates (direct credentialing pays more)
  • !Clinicians who may want to leave and take their credentials with them
  • !Providers wanting control over payer contract negotiations

Pricing details

Free to join—no membership fees. Grow Therapy retains a portion of insurance reimbursements as an administrative fee. Providers do not always receive full transparency on exact insurer-to-Grow reimbursement before payout. Claims are guaranteed.

HeyPsych Fairness Rating

C

46/100

Overall fairness score

pay fairness

Undisclosed revenue split. Reports of 15-25% less than direct credentialing

50

credential portability

Credentials stay with Grow. Must re-credential if you leave (60-120 days)

0

compensation transparency

Revenue split % undisclosed. Cannot predict exact earnings until after payment received

20

rate stability

Fewer reported rate cuts than competitors

65

clinician founded

Tech-founded by Jake Cooper (ex-ClassPass)

0

payment speed

Weekly payments (~7 days after insurance pays)

80

benefits protections

Clawback protection, guaranteed claims

85

HeyPsych Fairness Rating v1.0: Weighted score across pay fairness (30%), credential portability (20%), compensation transparency (15%), rate stability (15%), clinician-founded (10%), payment speed (5%), and benefits (5%). Scale: A (80-100), B (65-79), C (50-64), D (35-49), F (<35).

What to watch out for

credential portability

Issue: Credentials belong to Grow Therapy, not you

Impact: If you leave, you lose panel access and must re-credential independently (60-120 day gap)

Mitigation: Consider dual-credentialing independently if planning to eventually go fully independent

fee transparency

Issue: Revenue split percentage is not disclosed

rate visibility

Issue: You may not see what insurers actually paid Grow

Impact: Hard to know if you're getting a fair deal compared to direct credentialing

Some providers report rates 15-25% lower than what they'd get credentialing directly

ehr limitations

Issue: Built-in documentation tools are basic

Impact: Most serious practices use a separate dedicated EHR alongside Grow

client ownership

Issue: Clients find you through Grow's marketplace

Impact: If you leave, clients may not follow—they'll find another in-network provider

Building a private-pay clientele on the side maintains independence

clawback protection scope

Frequently asked questions

Is Grow Therapy free for therapists?

There's no upfront membership fee, but Grow takes an undisclosed percentage of insurance reimbursements. Unlike Alma's flat $125/month, you can't easily calculate your true cut. Some providers report receiving 15-25% less than direct credentialing would yield.

How fast is credentialing through Grow Therapy?

Grow Therapy credentials providers in 5-7 days on average—the fastest in the industry. However, these credentials belong to Grow. If you leave, you must re-credential independently (60-120 day process).

What are Grow Therapy reimbursement rates?

Providers report receiving $60-160+ per session depending on CPT code, payer, credentials, and location. PMHNPs average ~$129/hour while LCSWs earn $85-100/session. Note: this is what you receive after Grow's cut.

Does Grow Therapy have clawback protection?

Yes, Grow absorbs clawback risk—once you're paid, you keep it even if the insurer later claws back from Grow. This protection is effectively built into the revenue share you're giving up.

What happens if I leave Grow Therapy?

Your insurance credentials stay with Grow. You'd need to re-credential independently with each payer (60-120 days). Clients who found you through Grow's marketplace may not follow—they'll find another in-network provider.

How does Grow Therapy compare to Headway?

Both use revenue sharing (no monthly fee). Grow credentials in 5-7 days vs Headway's 2-4 weeks. Headway has a larger network (70,000+ vs 19,000+). Both offer clawback protection. Both pay weekly. Neither gives you portable credentials.

Company info

Headquarters
New York, New York, USA
Employees
500+
Funding status
Venture-backed (Series D)
Total raised
$328M
Valuation
$3B (March 2026)
Latest round
Series D (March 2026) ($150M)
Clinician-founded
No

Founders

Jake Cooper

CEO & Co-Founder

Tech entrepreneur. Founded Grow after watching friends and family get priced out of mental health care.

Manoj Kanagaraj

CSO (Chief Scientific Officer) & Co-Founder

Data science and healthcare analytics background

Alan Ni

CTO & Co-Founder

Engineering and technology leadership

Key investors

TCV, Goldman Sachs Growth Equity, Sequoia Capital, SignalFire, Transformation Capital, BCI, Menlo Ventures

Tripled valuation from ~$1B to $3B in Series D. Now 26,000+ providers running 1 million visits/month. Passed $1B annual revenue in 2025, profitable since year 2.